Skip to content

Movie Review: Rise of the Planet of the Apes

August 6, 2011

I hate open ended endings. This is one thing I hate about the original Planet of the Apes starring Mark Wahlberg, having said that, I was really apprehensive about watching the new prequel. But the movie being a prequel, I was quite expecting that it will have an open ended ending, probably not as blunt as the original Planet of the Apes.

I was able to catch the premiere of the movie last Tuesday. Without any big expectations, I was just excited to see what this new movie has to offer. I was pleasantly surprised! I think the movie was able to give a strong story on how the apes became what they are based on this fictional world.

Cast

Working with a CGI, James Franco and Tom Felton gave out a splendid performance, however the almost real imagery for the apes in the movie are the real scene stealers. The way Caesar was created including the facial expressions, movements and his overall behavior as a human-ape exceeded expectations to the point that I forget that I am actually empathizing with an ape. Truly, Andy Serkis gave heart to a computer generated ape and made us believe, be terrified and engage with it.

Plot

I guess the most effective formula that this movie used is how this ape just wanted to be accepted in this world and how it plays on emotions. There are plot points that are quite amiss with the Planet of the Apes, but watching the movie, I think it can stand alone as it is. This story kept me at the edge of my seat literally, wondering what could have happened if this happens in the real world.

Being a non fan of Mark Wahlberg’s Planet of the Apes, I don’t know if this is me having no expectations at all for loving the movie or just really liking it until the end. I guess I conclude that I prefer the latter me reviewing this movie.

Creative license or whatever you call it, this may not be as faithful as the sequel. But to hell with the sequel! Rise of the Planet of the Apes kicked ass and you should watch it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

