Skip to content

Well, This is it: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 Movie Review

July 17, 2011

Photo courtesy of Filmofilia

Arghh.

At this very moment I’m still dragging myself to write this movie review. I don’t know if its because I’m just plain lazy, or maybe part of me just can’t believe that the movie franchise which I grew up with ended. Gone. Forever. (Until the DVD release that is ;) )

I can still remember when I was with my college buddies watching the Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s stone sitting at the front row. Yes, front row because those were the only seats left. I haven’t read the books ( Yes, peer pressure) so I’m a little apprehensive about watching the movie. After that movie, boy, was I hooked. Since I was a late bloomer, I was able to get the books on paperback until the final 2 books, that time I was already earning my own money so I can easily buy a P1500 hardbound Potter book. Those were the days.

I think what is so hard for me to accept about this movie’s release was that — it just means that I am no longer a kid. Same with the other fans who, literally grew up with Ron, Hermione and Harry. Oh well. coPotterites this is it. This is the last movie.

Sorry if I talked about myself too much. Let’s go back to the real reason why this entry was written in the first place.

Production, Plot

I love at how the production team put their utmost attention in making sure that each scene counts. Compared to the other films which I may classify as a for-the-fans-movie, (Which I love especially Cuaron’s version. Which in turn the critics hate)  this movie really captured the right details and made sure that the audience, even the nonPotterites understand the unfolding of all the twists and turns of the story. There was great care in explaining the how and the why of the events that unfold. Each scene important to the end result.

As pointed out by a fellow blogger, I also do not like how the movie was not able to sustain the rising action that I was expecting on the film. I just felt that there were so many action scenes and then they will kill that with dialogue in the next, and then back to the action scenes. But I understand that this is very crucial to the film. Rowling’s work is full of detail that the action scenes may drown the intent of the movie which was to inform the audience of the how and why mischievous Tom Riddle was defeated.

The attention to ambient sound of nature was also evident in the film. I haven’t seen David Yates’ other films, but this was very distinct in the last 2 films compared to the previous films which really bank on using aggressive sound bed. There are misses in this approach however  I think it gave a distinct feel to the movie.

I would like to thank them for giving the “misunderstood” character the justice he deserves. The moment that they showed his past, my issues about inconsistencies of the movie’s fluidity dwindled down. This movie sustained what the past movies failed to: Emphasizing the back story. Which I think is very crucial in telling the Potter story.

Overall, they did a fantastic job in giving Potter’s story an astounding close. All efforts of the team especially the cast gleamed in every scene. Much heart and soul was poured to ensure that the fans will love it and for me that is enough to love the movie.

Distributed by Warner Bros., “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2”  is in Philippine theatres and IMAX, in 3D and 2D, July 14. The author would like to thank Wizard First Class Jay for the tickets. This Potter fan is ultra happy!

 

 


 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

