Skip to content

Making Waves: Pirates of the Caribbean on Stranger Tides

May 19, 2011

Jack Sparrow is back with another quest! I was not a fan of the Pirates films, as the last two was successful in putting me to sleep. I tried to fight the sleepiness but I guess the graveyard shift really made it a challenge.

Curiously, the fourth installment of the franchise is my favorite of all. I guess it is because the setting and the new quest fascinates me the most. Since Davy Jones is not in the movie anymore (I cringe whenever I see those octopus-like tentacles), the idea of the fountain of youth and mermaids are quite interesting to me. I would definitely want to have some of that just to get rid of my skin problems. Back to the movie, I don’t know if its just me or Jack Sparrow’s jokes are funnier and just spot on.

Captain Jack Sparrow (JOHNNY DEPP) and his old nemesis Captain Barbossa (GEOFFREY RUSH) are thrown together by fate in the search for the Fountain of Youth.

Any cast which have Geoffrey Rush and Johnny Depp in it just makes the movie worth every penny. Rush gave life to Captain Barbossa,  quite monumental I must say, that when I think of “pirate”, Rush’s character pops into my mind with his exquisite accent. Of course who will not forget the iconic Jack Sparrow. Penelope Cruz and Ian McShane are just icing on the cake, as the unlikely couple Angelica and Jack gave a comedic yet passionate flare to the movie.

One thing I hate about the Pirates franchise is that the story can be a little dragging and out of place sometimes. There is just a lot of things going on that you would some what get lost in the process. I think this is one problem that made me dose off during the two previous films. However, I must say that the action scenes are well executed and funny at the same time.

Technology-wise, I love their version of the mermaids. Some trivia: Do you know that one of the mermaids is a Filipina? Daphne Joy (far left) was born and raised in the heart of Olongapo, Philippines.At the age of 18 she transferred that interest to acting, and was soon working in front of the camera. She was also featured in several A-list recording artists’ music videos, along with commercials, national print campaigns, magazine covers and features.

Overall, it is a good movie. It is definitely better than the other installments. A must watch.

Opening across the Philippines on May 20, 2011, “Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides” is distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures International through Columbia Pictures.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

