Skip to content

A Review: Director’s Club at SM Cinema

January 9, 2011

Last Thursday, I was invited by SM Cinema to watch Little Fockers at the Mall of Asia’s Director’s Club. It was great to score free tickets as it has been a long time since I updated this blog and create a new movie review and uhhh, I kind of do not have sufficient moolah to watch a new movie before payday due to the holidays, hehe. But I was a little surprised when I entered the theatre! I was able to find these in the Director’s Club:

There are La-Z boys in the house! It was a one of a kind movie experience as we were able to watch the movie in La-Z boys.

It was my first time to use a La-Z Boy, I even have to ask the significant other how to recline the chair. As I was able to sit comfortably in the reclined La-Z Boy, with legs raised and head reclined! Something that I do not get to do in an ordinary cinema. I noticed that they can only accommodate 30 people in the cinema. A perfect venue if you want a unique touch to your event or party.

SM Cinema is not famous for having a great sound system for most of its cinemas around the metro specially the smaller malls, but the Director’s Club was able to compensate that need. I was able to hear Ben Stiller and Robert De Niro’s banter clearly. Hearing the audience laugh in this almost private setup will make you laugh at the actor’s antics as well.

The size of the cinema is just right compared to the other theatres in SM. It has that “compressed” feel to it as your eyes can just focus on the screen instead of the other elements in the cinema.

It would be great if they designate couches for couples who want to sit together as the La-Z boys are far apart (I’m not saying this because I’m with the “boyfriend” but yeah, It will be better to have that ü). I would like to suggest that they put more La-Z Boys but I think the seating capacity of the venue is just right for 30.

A nearer food kiosk would be more convenient because you have to go outside the director’s club and into the regular cinemas to be able to buy some food. Since they are targetting VIP’s, I think that kind of convenience is essential.

Overall, it is great that SM Cinemas are doing their best in finding different ways to enjoy movies! I hope that they’ll be able to incorporate these improvements in their other cinemas. :)

For more information / bookings, you may contact them at:
SM MALL OF ASIA CINEMA OFFICE
Tel. No.: (632) 556-2314, 556-0104
Email Address: directorsclub@smsupermalls.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

