Skip to content

A Month of Crappy Movies

September 19, 2010

Hi there! I apologize for being silent for almost a month! There is just a lot of things going on in my life these days that sitting down and just blogging about movies I’ve watched is a luxury these days.

I don’t know what it is with this month that watching a pretty “decent” movie is hard to come by. Here are some movies that I was able to watch in the past month, 9 hours of my life that should have been spent in blogging instead of watching all these irritatingly crappy movies.

The Last Airbender

The Last Airbender

I’ve recommended to my friends not to watch this movie due to the bad reviews, but knowing me for not following MY own advice, I still watched it just to know how bad it is.

It turned out that the reviews was right. Shyamalan successfully turned this favorite into a sleazy borefest of a movie. The effects were stunning, but the special effects failed to rescue the weak storyline.

I agree on what a movie review somewhere said that it looks like Shyamalan ripped off the movie’s entire story out of a Wiki article. There was not much coherence and it felt like the movie was desperately stretched out into 3 hours just because.

It was just disappointing how good material can be put to waste just like that. We hope that they spent more time in improving the storyline specially for the die hard fans of the cartoon.

Bad acting. Bad storyline. Total waste of time and money.

Jon Foo as Jin Kazama in Tekken the Movie

Alas. Even Jon Foo’s cuteness is not enough to save the sanctity of Tekken the movie.

Is it just me? Because I believe that this game is an icon of my generation. In the emergence of new technologies introduced in game consoles such as Playstation, Tekken has always been a household name. With that in mind, I believe that movie outfits would kill to get this famous game into film.

But here I am, disappointed yet again. As the movie fails miserably to captivate me and its die hard fans.

Admit it. You will watch it just because its Tekken! The cast is sexy but storyline is just bad bad bad.

The Last Exorcism

The Last Exorcism. The movie started believable. But it gave up and decided to be a hoax at the latter part of the film.

The movie’s got a documentary-esque format. You’ll believe at first but wait until you see the ending.

Total waste of money. And time. And effort.

Of course there’s Despicable Me, Going the Distance, Vampire Sucks and other movies that I might like. But I’ve had enough crappy movies for September thankyouverymuch.

So that’s the recap of the movies that I’ve watched this mid August and September. Before I end this entry, I would like to quote Green Day:

Wake Me Up When September Ends.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

